Copa del Rey: the incredible record that Barcelona achieved and how is the historical classification of champions

Barcelona was consecrated as champion of the Copa del Rey this Saturday after beating the Athletic Club Bilbao 4-0 at the La Cartuja Stadium in Seville. With goals from Antoine Griezmann (60 ‘), Frenkie de Jong (63 ‘) and a double of Lionel messi (68 ‘and 71’) the culé team was able to lift its 31st trophy of this contest, with a spectacular record of ten finals in the last thirteen editions.

“Congratulations Barcelona for fighting each round of the Copa del Rey every year. Congratulations for dignifying this beautiful tournament season after season. Only in this way can it be possible to be the first team in the 119-year history of the Cup that manages to play ten out of thirteen finals ”, was what the Spanish journalist and statesman Alexis María Martín-Tamayo Blázquez, better known, wrote on his Twitter account. as ‘MisterChip’ after the consecration of the Barca.

The team led by Ronald Koeman won the first title of the season and the first as coach for the Dutchman since his arrival. The Blaugrana institution continues to be the “King of Cups” in this contest, with 31st it is the winner. He has an incredible 74% percentage, having won 31 of the 42 finals he played. After two editions without success (Valencia and Real Sociedad), Barca has won seven titles since the beginning of the 21st century. Barcelona is the most champion of this tournament, followed by Athletic, which has 23, Real Madrid, 19 and Atlético de Madrid, 10.

In the last thirteen seasons, Barcelona has lifted this trophy that suits them so well seven times. While he lost three finals of the last thirteen disputed. The team led by Ronald Koeman will seek the “double” after winning the Copa del Rey. This would happen if they conquer LaLiga, where they are 3rd with eight games to go (Getafe, Villarreal, Granada, Valencia, Atlético de Madrid, Levante, Celta de Vigo and Eibar). He has already achieved this in eight seasons, the closest being 2017-2018.

Messi, with an incredible game, won seven of his ten finals played. In 2008-09 to Athletic by 4-1, in 2011-12 to Athletic by 3-0, in 2014-15 again to Athletic by 3-1, in 2015-16 to Sevilla by 2-0, in 2016-17 to Alavés 3-1, in 2017-18 against Sevilla 5-0 and today against Athletic 4-0. For their part, Athletic suffered two consecutive defeats in the Copa del Rey finals in just two weeks, as they lost to Real Sociedad the previous edition.

Leave a Comment